Advantage


Cultural Anthropology studies patterns of culture. The definition of culture covers a range of everyday activities such as dining and dressing, and general human conditions such as life and death. Culture is a system of rules and beliefs by which people engage in through everyday activities and the world. Human beings learn these rules through unconscious repetition in their everyday life. They are entangled in the web of culture.

Rhizome is the first consulting company in China to feature applied anthropology. We excel at Culture Decoding, Consumer Demands Positioning, Trend Analysis, Product Scene and Experience Optimization. We assist brands and businesses in establishing localized strategies and developing leading positioning in the aspects of culture, marketing and innovation.

Our core team members include anthropologists, social scientists, data scientists, branding experts and marketing experts. It is our passion for research that brings us together and allows us to leverage the diversity of our areas of expertise. We believe that systematic research should be applied to solve practical problems. With such passion and faith, we have been exploring the market, constantly pondering on how to meet our clients' challenges in brand development.

Rhizome has successfully applied ethnography, cultural and semiotic analysis to both market and consumer research and have creatively combined these methods to develop a series of research products including the In-depth Consumer Index System “Qianji”, Culture Code, Contemporary Life Database, Context and Experience Modeling and "Qianji" Big Data. These tools allow us to establish brand concept systems, consumer profiling and segmentation, all to efficiently optimize consumer experiences. This is how we support clients to better understand consumer behavior and to further develop systematic, specific and leading brand and marketing strategies.

Made by the people

Ethnography


Ethnography is a unique methodology system that belongs to the domain of cultural anthropologists. It is formed by the “three core concepts” (Daily Routine Theory, Aggregate Theory and Situational Theory); the “on-site ethnographic field research methodology”; and the “analytical framework of “individual – society – culture”. Ethnography can comprehensively identify consumers varied behavioral expectations, motives, and needs. It can build behavioral models that correlate consumer values, emotions and motivations. In addition, it can identify the criterions and factors that generate each unique situation, while placing these behavioral motives and situations in a larger integrated societal and cultural system for further analysis and interpretation. From there, we are able to precisely explore consumers' needs and their transformation on a deeper level, thereby predicting associated consumer trends.
On-Site Observation: Researchers immerse themselves into the daily lives of informants, hang out with them, understand their lives, contexts and habits, and uncover the underlying demands and tensions that go beyond words and consciousness.
Relaxing and natural atmosphere: In the process of observation, researchers transform into companions and participants to reduce the informant’s alertness and prevent them from acting fake.
Real and Immediate: On-site observation captures the “present moments” and unconscious behaviors of informants. Accompanied by real-time interviews, researchers are able to obtain first-hand information. This can help informants to avoid overly concluding, distorting or beautifying their memories.
Rich and Comprehensive: Through on-site conversations and discussions, we use notes, audio and video recordings to restore informants’ behavioral habits (what they eat, how they dress and where they live), social networks, work contexts, media consumption contexts and experiences, etc. We capture a massive amount of vivid, fresh, real and influencing stories and contexts.
Made by the people
Made by the people

Culture Code


People's behaviors and opinions are always influenced by the social and cultural structures they live in. Economic conditions, local traditions, public consensus and popular discourses all contribute to this larger structure, and its influences are manifested in all life aspects. This includes decisions regarding food, clothing, living space, and transportation. Hence, in order to comprehend and predict people's behaviors and motivations, it is crucial for brands to understand “Culture Code”. “Culture Code” has an vital impact on how brands spread themselves and convey brand values into consumer's heart.
The structures of culture and society are not static. In China, they are undergoing rapid changes, causing a huge transformation in consumer’s consumption behaviors, perceptions and preferences. We keep up with the changing rhythms and trends, decode and leverage them into strategies for brands, to further establish a deeper connection between brands and consumers in the aspects of emotions and values. This is the unique value of culture code.
Made by the people
Made by the people

The In-depth Consumer Index System “Qianji”


Rhizome employs the In-depth Consumer Index System “Qianji” to precisely profile consumers with eight dimensions. Analytical dimensions can be adapted according to different objectives. “Qianjita” can be applied to effectively identify key needs and differences. It constitutes the knowledge foundation for consumer segmentation, branding and marketing.
As an analytical framework, the unique “Qianji” develops eight analytical dimensions to profile consumers from a multi-dimensional perspective. The eight dimensions go beyond traditional demographics (gender, age, etc.) and social attributes (occupation, social identity, etc.), further crafting the lifestyles, consumption patterns and values of consumers.
Made by the people
Made by the people

Contemporary Life Database


Contemporary Life Database is a qualitative database developed and owned by Rhizome.The diversity and depth of the data guarantee the promptness and reliability of the insights and strategies.
WIDE-RANGING
More than 10 provinces across the country
More than 100 cities involved, ranging from tier 1 to 4
DIVERSE
High diversity of demographic data
VIVID
Real-time observation and growing record of people and cities
IN-DEPTH
2000+ individual life stories thoroughly recorded, including life style, consumption, family and self-development, demonstrated in rich formats of texts, videos and photos
The contemporary life database is based on a diachronic study by observing informants in their real-life context over a longer period of time. It enables researchers to well combine historical records and future trends, to explore differences between types of people and the key drivers behind it, and to identify the emerging needs and cognitive changes as they take place, which provides a solid basis for decision-making. 2-panel databases:
“Mom Panel” includes women of different occupations and family sizes, covering the whole process of parenting ranging from preparing, pregnancy, nursing and raising.
This database captures user's habits and perceptions in terms of parenting, family, education, entertainment, personal care etc. This panel aims to collect behavioral patterns which can allow us to dig deeper into consumer’s self-awareness, life expectations, life plans and pain points.
“Elite Panel” includes dozens of high net worth groups with more than 60 million RMB of family assets and strong influence in their industry or field. Being the core seeds of our database, they are able to connect researchers with this very elusive social group.
Via regular visiting, researchers immerse themselves into elite’s social contexts to study their lifestyles, consumption habits, wealth allocation strategy, self-awareness and value orientation. The study will cover all aspects of life, in order to get direct insight into high-end lifestyles, consumption ideas and trends.
Via regular visiting, researchers immerse themselves into elite’s social contexts to study their lifestyles, consumption habits, wealth allocation strategy, self-awareness and value orientation. The study will cover all aspects of life, in order to get direct insight into high-end lifestyles, consumption ideas and trends.
“China Middle-Class” Panel”Based on Chinese statistical data, we are able to provide an accurate definition for the middle-class in China across tier 1 to tier 3 cities. In order to comprehensively portray different middle-class typology, we carefully analyze their occupation, income, family structure, consumption habit, and leisure and entertainment patterns. Via accumulative knowledge, we are constantly uncovering the changing trends of the middle-class in their consumption patterns, brand preferences, lifestyle upgrades etc.
“China Youth Panel” Over the past 10 years, we have continuously conducted cross-generational research and tracking of the “youth” in China, specifically from the post 85 to 00. We continue to accumulate in-depth knowledge of different generations in both their uniqueness and typicality, with a focus on their lifestyles, pain-points, and quality life aspirations. Additionally, we follow the trends of their demands and preferences towards consumption, brands, entertainment patterns, social group culture etc.
Made by the people

睿丛独特优势


文化人类学将“文化”作为主要研究对象,文化的定义覆盖了吃穿住行、生老病死的各个方面,是人们进行这些活动的一套行为规则,以及认为应该如何进行这些活动的理念和信仰。人们通过“无意识的重复”而领会关于做这些活动的规则。人们无时无刻不在文化之网中。

睿丛文化,是全国最早以文化人类学为特色的咨询机构。长于文化解码、消费者·需求定位、趋势洞察、场景与体验优化。帮助品牌建设更具系统性、引领性、针对性的文化·市场·创新定位及落地策略。

我们的核心团队由人类学家、社会科学家、数据科学家、品牌专家、营销策略专家组成, 来自不同领域,怀抱着对研究的热忱形成了紧密合作的团队。 我们坚信研究能够并且应该用来解决问题。 凭借这种信念,我们一直保持对市场的敏锐探索,站在为客户解决实际问题的立场上深入思考。

我们将人类学生活志、文化分析和符号分析等,创造性地应用于对消费者和市场的研究中,并在应用过程中形成了包括千机塔消费者深度指标体系、文化解码、当代生活数据库、场景与体验模型在内的一系列研究产品与工具,能够有效解决品牌概念体系搭建、消费者·需求类型化及定位、场景与体验设计优化、需求探查及机会空间定位等问题,帮助品牌掌握和应用关于消费者行为的规律,建设更具系统性、引领性、针对性的品牌与市场定位策略。

Made by the people

生活志®


“生活志”(Ethnography)是文化人类学独特的方法论体系,由三个核心理念 (“日常论”、“整体论”、“情境论”);一系列在场(On-site)式田野调查方法;“个体 - 社会 - 文化” 分析框架共同组成。
“生活志”能够全面、准确、深入识别不同类型消费者的行为动机及需求;建立行动模式与价值、情感、动机的高解释性关联;识别各个情境的生成条件及要素;将人的行为动机及诸般情境放置在更大更完整的社会、文化系统内进行分析和解释,从而能够更为深入、精准地探查消费者需求及需求变化,并在此基础上进行消费趋势预测。
·眼见为实:研究员进入实地情境,运用人类学技术在最短时间内以“局内人”的身份和视角“嵌入”到被研究对象的真实生活中,浸入真实生活场景,了解真实使用情景/场景/习惯,能够发现远超于言说和意识之外的潜在需求和痛点。
·自然浸入:将受访者置身于真实的生活/消费场景中,研究者将身份转化为陪同者和参与者,能够最大程度减少受访者的戒心和表演成分。
·真实即时:参与式的观察能够抓住许多当下发生的细节,甚至下意识的行为,伴随即时访谈与追问,能够获得第一时间的新鲜信息,避免了滞后访谈时可能出现的受访者过度总结阐发、记忆不准确或美化记忆的情况。
·丰富全面:通过真实对话与探讨,采用笔记、影音资料等手段全方位地记录,还原被研究对象的吃、穿、住、行、人际关系网络与互动、工作形态、媒体接触等场景与体验,获取大量生动的(vivid)鲜活的(juicy)故事与场景,具有极强的还原性和感染力。
Made by the people
Made by the people

文化解码®


人们的行为和观念总是受到文化结构和社会结构的影响,比如经济形势、地方传统、流行观念、主流话语等等,这种影响体现在日常生活方方面面的选择和决定。吃、穿、住、用、行,没有任何行为与观念是孤立的,理解文化社会结构及其变化就成为理解和预判人们行为和动机的关键。对品牌而言,理解这种“文化”至关重要,它决定了品牌如何传播自己、以怎样的方式传递品牌价值,才能走进消费者的心。
文化结构和社会结构并不是静态的,在今天的中国,社会和文化变迁尤其剧烈,人们的消费行为、观念和偏好也随之发生快速变化,把握这种变化的方向和规律,是文化解码的独有价值。根据这种规律和趋势制定更有针对性的品牌策略。帮助品牌从情感、价值等更深更准的层面与消费者建立强关联。
Made by the people
Made by the people

千机深度消费者标签体系


睿丛自主开发的千机塔深度消费者标签体系,8层维度全息、精准刻画消费者群体。能够根据不同项目目标实现不同维度的定位,从而识别关键需求和不同需求类型的差异,在此基础上将消费者进行类型化。是品牌营销和市场策略的重要知识性基础。
“千机塔·消费者类型化模型”作为分析框架,提炼出8层分析维度,能够对消费者形象进行立体多维的刻画。这8层维度对消费者的刻画超越了传统的人口属性(性别、年龄等)和社会属性(职业、社会身份等),引入了生活方式、消费方式和价值观维度,能够在纷繁多样的行为差异与深层的价值动因之间建立起规律解释,从而实现更精准的消费者类型化。
Made by the people
Made by the people

当代生活数据库


当代生活数据库是睿丛自建的定性资料数据库,数据来源于睿丛历年项目积累。数据来源广泛,能够快速提供洞察和策略服务。
广泛——囊括一线到四线的100多个城市,跨越东南西北的10多个省份。
全面——覆盖不同生命阶段和群体类型。
鲜活——对城市和人群的实时观察与记录,并且在快速的不断增长中。
深入——2000多个体完整生活方式、生活历史、消费故事、价值观念的深入记录,同时包含线上与线下行为、以文字、影音、图像等多样化的形式呈现。
当代生活数据库采用历时性研究的方法论,将研究对象的生活与行为放置到更长时段中,通过跨时段的追踪比较,将对过去的记录与对未来趋势的探查很好的结合,能够更精准的反映不同人群类型之间的差异,以及导致这种差异的趋势性动力,第一时间识别正在产生的需求和认知变化,保持市场领先地位,抢占先机。四专题追踪数据库:
“妈妈库”:囊括不同职业和家庭类型的育龄女性,并定期不断进行样本更新;横跨“备孕-待产-哺乳-养育” 全阶段;针对女性群体的多主题洞察和深层次理解,覆盖线上和线下的各类生活场景,获取哺育、家庭、教育、娱乐、个人护理等方面的理念和消费实践,探入探究自我认知、情感期待、生活规划以及焦虑痛点。
“精英库”:以数十位家庭资产在6000万以上,对本行业或领域有影响力的高净值人群为核心种子,形成社群并定期追踪更新;浸入精英群体的生活和社交场景, 研究其生活方式、消费习惯、财富利用方式、自我认知和价值取向,广泛覆盖其生活的方方面面,能够获取关于高端生活方式、引领性消费理念和趋势的前沿洞察。
“中等收入群体数据库”:在全国性数据的基础上,对中国的中等收入群体进行精准定义,覆盖全国1-3线城市;对不同类型的中等收入群体进行全方位的刻画,囊括了职业、收入、家庭结构、消费方式、休闲娱乐方式等不同维度;累积并发现关于不同类型群体在消费、品牌、生活方式升级等方面的需求与偏好变化趋势。
“青年库”:对“青年”这一群体进行持续性的跨代际研究与追踪,跨越了从85后到00后的不同代际青年;深入理解不同代际的独特性和典型性,围绕其生活方式与观念、人生理想与路径、生活痛点进行全貌刻画,并持续追踪TA们在消费、品牌、休闲娱乐、圈层文化方面的需求与偏好变化趋势。
Made by the people